Home > Meet A Manager > Meet A Manager: The Chosen People

Meet A Manager: The Chosen People

The next installment in our ‘Meet A Manager’ series takes a look at one of the newest members of the Illinois Fantasy Baseball League, but still a familiar face to league members.  And he brought it in his answers, so you have a very good read ahead of you.  Today, meet the man behind ‘The Chosen People’….

  • Who is the man behind The Chosen People (i.e. you)?

I grew up in Florida, moved to Illinois for work last year and have been here since. This is my third year of fantasy baseball and I’m in 5 leagues this year.

  • What do you do for a living?

I work in politics.

  • If we’ve met, how did we meet?

I was a Press Secretary, you were a reporter. I was a match made in baseball heaven.

  • What inspired your team name?

My first fantasy team was with a bunch of friends of mine from Notre Dame. As the only Jew on the team, I felt the need to capitalize on my minority status; thus, The Chosen People were born.

  • How long have you played fantasy sports?

Ever since 2006. Like most, I began with fantasy football.

  • What’s your best accomplishment in fantasy sports?

Winning the Illinois Fantasy Football League last year. Not only because it was the most competitive football league I’ve been in, but also because it was my first league win ever.

  • What’s your favorite teams and players?

I’m probably the only Florida Marlins fan you’ll ever find.  (ed. note: I love their TV guys.  They’re so excitable.)  I was a big Jeff Conine and Andre Dawson fan growing up. My girlfriend is a die hard White Sox fan, so I’ve effectively adopted them as my AL team.

  • What’s your most memorable sports moment that you personally have done?

When I was in little league, I drove in the winning run during a game by getting hit (in the head) by a pitch. I’m pretty sure it’s my father’s fondest memory of me. Also, eating every type of encased meat sold at The Cell during one game.

  • What’s your favorite sports moment overall?

I still remember Charlie Hough’s first pitch for the Marlins. That knuckleball is still making its way to the plate.

  • What is the top item on your bucket list?

Seeing a game in every MLB park.

  • What mythical holiday character (Santa Claus, Easter Bunny, etc.) would you bring to life and exist in the real world, and why?

Gus Johnson. Because March Madness is my favorite holiday.  (ed. note: You are good…you are good.)

  • If you could replace your bloodstream with any kind of drink, and live as normal, what drink would it be, and why?

As I don’t make it a habit to consume my own blood, it frankly wouldn’t matter.

  • Would you rather be President of the United States, or run a Fortune 500 company, and why?

President. I would like my own library someday.

  • Favorite SI swimsuit model?

You know there are women without clothes on the internet, right? For free.  (ed. note: Oh I know…I know…)

  • Any parting words you want to give to the rest of the league?

Don’t draft Josh Hamilton. He will break himself.

Categories: Meet A Manager Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

